Thursday Sport

Parramatta Diocese has their own weekly inter-school sports competition which runs on Thursdays

In 2023, we offer 2 competitions across our schools, with a total of 22 schools involved each Thursday.


Competition 1 is a boys school competition, with

Parramatta Marist High, Westmead,

Patrician Brothers College, Blacktown,

St Dominics College, Kingswood,

St Gregory's College, Gregory Hills, and

St Pauls Catholic College, Greystanes being involved.


Sports offered are as follows for Competition 1 - 

Season 1 - Basketball and Cricket

Season 2 - Football and Rugby League

Season 3 - AFL and Touch Football


Competition 2 is a boys and girls school competition with a Year 7/8, Year 9/10 and Year 11/12 division, with

Bede Polding College, South Windsor,

Catherine McAuley, Westmead,

Emmaus Catholic College, Erskine Park,

Gilroy Catholic College, Castle Hill,

Marian Catholic College, Kenthurst,

Maronite College of the Holy Family, Harris Park,

Nagle College, Blacktown,

Penola Catholic College, Emu Plains,

Santa Sophia Catholic College, Box Hill,

St Agnes Catholic High School, Rooty Hill, 

St Andrews College, Marayong,

St Clares Catholic High School, Hassell Grove, 

St Columba's Catholic College, Springwood, Rooty Hill,

St John Paul II College, Schofields,

St Lukes Catholic College, Marsden Park,

St Patricks Marist College, Dundas, and

 Xavier College, Llandilo being involved.


Sports offered are as follows for Competition 2 - 

Season 1 -  OzTag, Volleyball and Boys Basketball 

Season 2 - Football and Rugby League, Girls Netball and Ultimate Frisbee

Season 3 - Cricket, Touch Football, and Girls Basketball

We offer 3 season of sport in the year. Each season runs for 10-12 weeks.

There is no specific start date for Season 2 or 3. To allow for varying weather conditions flexibility has been built into the school calendar for Thursday sport. Refer to the PDSSSC Calendar for specific dates.


Season 1



Season 2



Season 3




Participating Schools

The following schools participate in the PDSSSC Thursday Competition throughout 2023.

School Location
Bede Polding College South Windsor
Catherine McAuley Westmead
Emmaus Catholic College Erskine Park
Gilroy Catholic College Castle Hill
Marian Catholic College Kenthurst
Maronite College of the Holy Family Harris Park
Nagle College Blacktown 
Parramatta Marist High Westmead
Patrician Brothers College Blacktown
Penola Catholic College Emu Plains
Santa Sophia Catholic College Box Hill
St Agnes Catholic High School Rooty Hill
St Andrews College Marayong
St Clares Catholic High School
Hassal Grove
St Columba's Catholic College Springwood
St Dominics College Kingswood
St Gregory's College Gregory Hills
St John Paul II College Schofields
St Lukes Catholic College Marsden Park
St Patricks Marist College Dundas
St Pauls Catholic College Greystanes
Xavier College Llandilo


Division Year Groups
Junior Division Year 7 and 8 students only
Intermediate Division Year 9 and 10 students only
Senior Division  Year 11 and 12 students
Open Division Year 7 to 10 students only
Some sports and competition have variations to the above divisions.             

Game Times

Start Time 1.00pm
Forfeit 5 minutes after the advertised start time. The game should still be played (shortened in time) and the PDSSSC will decide.
Conclude Varies according to competition and sport being played

Point Score System

Win 3 points
Draw 2 points
Loss 1 point
Bye 0 points
Forfeit 0 points
Washout 2 points each team


Thursday Competition Guidelines